Skip to content

International Left-Handers’ Day

August 13, 2012

Today is the day to celebrate south paws across the globe. Left-handers have traditionally overcome a number of challenges presented in a right-handed world. Try using a pair of right-handed scissors with your left hand. Not as easy as it looks, is it?

I’ve found it a challenge, as a right-hander, to teach the craft of knitting to those naturally inclined to left-handed dominance. Check out this fantastic infographic portraying the finer points of knitting to the left-hander.

Give left-handed a go and celebrate the diversity among us!

Part 1: Casting on:

 

 

 

 

 

Part 2: The Knit Stitch

More information on International Left-Handers’ Day is available on the official site: http://www.lefthandersday.com/about.html.

Original infographic created by http://trauermei.deviantart.com/

  • Do you have a favourite left-handed knitting or needlework tutorial? Share it in the comments.
  • Are you left-handed? What challenges do you face while you live, work, and play in a right-handed world?
8 Comments leave one →
  1. Pat Meyer permalink
    August 14, 2012 12:35 pm

    I understand why some left-handered people try knitting left-handed, but really, knitting is a two hand activity, and I have taught several left-handed people to knit the same way right-handed people do. Just as there are no left-handed piano players, knitting is not a left or right-handed activity, but a two-handed activity.

    • August 14, 2012 2:02 pm

      Thanks, Pat. I do agree. I often knit two-handed. I love fair isle and this technique was invented with two-handed knitting in mind. I keep one colour on each hand and merrily stitch along.

    • Brandi permalink
      January 22, 2017 11:13 pm

      As a true left hander and self taught knitter, I have to disagree. Although I can knit simple stitches and patterns both ways, some of the more intricate knitting is very difficult to do right handed. However that is not the true problem for lefthanded knitters. The true problem comes from trying to follow written instructions that state “left needle” vs “right needle”, charts that are backwards, and trying to determine the direction of decreases and increases. With enough practice and trial and error (lot of error) these issues can be overcome, but it would be helpful if pattern writers would acknowledge some of thier knitters might be trying to go at it in the other direction.

      • January 23, 2017 7:18 am

        Brandi, that is for stopping by and thanks for helping me understand left handed knitting.

  2. amberwhatfor permalink
    October 16, 2012 5:20 pm

    I am left handed and I thank you for posting this. While it may be true that knitting for some people is a two handed activity, for me as a beginner, this is extremely helpful. I am a self taught knitter who learned by googling how to knit. Again, thank you : )

    • October 18, 2012 10:54 am

      Thanks for stopping by, Amber. I’m glad you found the infographic helpful. I am looking for a purling left-handed infographic to put up here as well. If you come across one, please let me know.

  3. Jane permalink
    August 4, 2019 8:30 pm

    Do you have any left hand Pattons
    Or pages for crocheting

Leave a comment