Skip to content

The sewing machine… the sewing machine!

February 25, 2015

1948 Singer treadle sewing machineCheck out this video on YouTube video that stars your friend and mine…the sewing machine! I love the musical movies from the 1940s. Betty Hutton was beautiful and funny in this one “The Perils of Pauline” (1947) is wonderful. I love my vintage 1948 Singer treadle machine (check her out on the left!). She shines in this era and it is nice to think her cousins are featured in this feature film clip!

I dare you to keep your toes from tapping or your feet from treadling to the beat of this catchy tune!

The words… as performed by Betty Hutton in the film “The Perils Of Pauline”

Ahhh, the sewing machine, the sewing machine
A girl’s best friend
If I didn’t having my sewing machine
I’d a come to no good end
But a bobbin a bobbin and peddle a peddle
And wheel the wheel by day
So by night I feel so weary that I never get out to play

Ohhh, the sewing machine, the sewing machine
A friend in need
If I didn’t having my sewing machine
A wicked life I’d lead
But a bobbin a bobbin and peddle a peddle
And dream about romance
So by night I feel so weary that I never get out to dance

Ohhh, the sewing machine, the sewing machine
Me pride and joy
If I didn’t having me sewing machine
I’d a married James McCoy
But a bobbin a bobbin and peddle a peddle
And that’s the end of Jim
‘Cause by night I get so weary I don’t even look good to him

Ohhh, have I got a boss, he looks like a ho’ss
His name’s Joe Gurt*
I’m willing to bet the wages I get
His face must hurt**
While a bobbin a bobbin and peddle a peddle
He keeps his eyes on me
Oh, I’ve never had a nightmare where I didn’t meet Mister G

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2015 5:13 pm

    I love that old movie.

    • February 25, 2015 5:36 pm

      Oh! I do too! This video reminded me that I need to watch it again. Stitching and movies go hand in hand. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. February 26, 2015 4:10 pm

    Love it!

    • February 26, 2015 4:13 pm

      I cannot get the tune out of my head!

Leave a Reply

