Skip to content

Holiday Stitches!

December 12, 2014

wpid-img_20141212_133426.jpgLike many of you, I’m franticly completing a number of projects. I’m knitting, I’m crocheting, I’m sewing, and I’m beginning think that I might just make the big deadline!

This year’s stitching has taken on a different slant as I’ve been doing a little bit of knitting for hire. Sock monkeys are very popular this year. I’ve stitched dolls, baby booties, and slippers.

Many of you make a great living stitching for dollars. It takes a lot of dedication, time, and love of your craft. I tip my hat to all of you.

The custom projects took a lot of time from my regular stitching activities, but I adored every moment. Many feet will be warm well into the new year. Babies will be stylish in their sock monkey booties. A few adults will proudly prance around house and home while sock monkeys keep their toes from Jack Frost’s chill. It fills me with pride that a few more people are now discovering the beauty of hand stitched items.

wpid-wp-1418417377200.jpegI made up for the lost moments by digging out my 20 year old Bond Incredible Sweater Machine. It is a simple knitting machine that runs on a knitter’s hand power. As the carriage is moved back and forth, over 300 stitches can be stitched into miles of stockinette. Sweaters, afghans, scarves, mittens, socks, home decor, and other projects are easily stitched on the machine.

I now return you to your regular scheduled stitching. My attention goes to my sewing room where a few scarves will be lined with fleece, hats with matching mittens will show their unique character as I stitch on faces and other details, and pyjama pants will be constructed.

I love the magic of a home made Christmas. How about you?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

