Skip to content

Top Ten Things I Learned from my Twitter Feed

June 21, 2012

What I learned from Twitter this week:

Twitter is a learning tool. It is where I turn when I need an important question answered. It is where I go when I’m having trouble figuring out a stitch pattern. It is where I head when I’m in need of inspiration. Yes, Twitter is a valuable resource in my learning journey and knitterly lifestyle.

 This is what I learned from my Tweoples this week: 

  1. Rachael E. Stephen (@mythicflux) showed me the value of graphics that are already pixelated and ready for knitting. (http://pinterest.com/pin/110267890846889639/)

  2. Sharon Burton (@sharonburton) reminded me that a “world of possibilities” exist in a small box of yarn. We can truly knit anything.

  3. Johnny Vasquez (@newstitaday) shared a tutorial on the three needle bind off. Tutorials are always appreciated. (http://newstitchaday.com/how-to-knit-the-three-needle-bind-off/)

  4. Simplicity Creative (@TweetSimplicity) is always ready with a great idea on how to amuse children. Have you checked out the paper dolls, http://www.simplicity.com/t-paper-dolls.aspx?

  5. WoollyBoully (@woollyboully) tweeted about her latest pair of socks. “These aren’t the throw in your bag and work on anywhere socks.” (June 1, 2012) Life is all about challenges and interesting journeys. What challenges has the knitting lifestyle presented to you lately?

  6. Sarah B. Hood (@SarahBHood) got me thinking about the latest trends in baking. Check out these cakes: http://www.21stcenturyhousewife.com/index/Blog/Entries/2012/6/21_Baking_Trends_2012.html

  7. Steph Pearl-McPhee (@YarnHarlot) made me laugh and more appreciative that I live on the prairies where the humidity is low and the temperatures are reasonable and the need for a fan has not hit us yes. “Joe just put a fan in the living room. I love him so much right now that I can scarcely express it without maintaining a G rating.” (June 20, 2012)

  8. AlishaGoesAround (@alishagaround) solved her conundrum of a lack of shawl pins by heading off to buy wire and create her own. “How I own only 1 shawl pin? Off to hobby lobby for wire.” (June 21, 2012)

  9. Melanie (@BlackTrillium) observed the absurdity of Thirty Something and asked “Did those writers even have kids? Apparently not.” (June 21, 2012)

  10. Rachel (@FromEwe2You) joined knitters everywhere in sharing outrage in her June 21, 2012 tweet: “Knitters outraged after U.S. Olympic Committee Squashes knitting Olympics – and Disses Knitters – http://gawker.com/5920036/us-olympics-committee-is-mad-at-knitting-olympics-for-denigrating-real-athletes

That’s my top ten insights from my Twitter feed, @stoonstitcher. What are your top learning moments?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2012 1:14 pm

    Hey thanks for the mention! Love the other insights. What a great idea.

    • June 23, 2012 9:24 am

      Thanks, Johnny. I’ll be posting regular top ten insights from now on. It is a technique used in my professional world and works well for knitterly pursuits, just as so many other things from the land of knitting do.

Leave a Reply

