Skip to content

And so it continues…

August 12, 2010

August 2009 was a busy time for this knitter.  Here is a trip down memory lane from 2009 that I couldn’t resist re-posting.  We were moving, knitting, and working.  It was a busy time.  I now wear Rosalind on a regular basis 🙂

August 14, 2009

And so it continues….

I’ve been packing and I’ve been knitting. I decided to cast on a pretty, yet simple, project … Rosalind. She is a beautiful summer knit that keeps the harmonies in good shape (and aid in the retention of what little sanity I have left…that is not a lot). The designer, author of A Mingled Yarn Blog, is also an English Professor with a love and knowledge of Shakespeare that rivals my own. How I could I not cast on her creation in honour of one of my favourite Shakespearian characters. Over the years we’ve discovered our similarities that include Shakespeare, knitting, and dress making.

So far I have a few inches of the lace repeat on the back complete. The pattern actually calls for 2″ worth of patterning before starting the waste decreases. I have made an executive decision. Since I enjoy my sweaters and tops a wee bit longer, I knit 4″ and have now begun the repeats.

Four inches down! Now the decreases. This is truly a fast knit.

Four inches down! Now the decreases. This is truly a fast knit.

Speaking of Harmonies, I’ve been knitting with the Harmony straights. I love my Harmony Interchangeables and when I saw the straights for sale from Knit Picks I could not resist. They are beautiful. I like needles with a bit of grab to them and these certainly have it. They have very sharp tips and provide just enough grab so that I don’t drop my stitches off the needles. Here they are in all their glory (yes they come with the case – a beautiful black jaquard):

The Harmonies - my new favourite needles.

The Harmonies - my new favourite needles.

As a treat and reward to myself for making some progress I have begun to knit a repeat or two in between boxes. The Osteoarthritis and neck issues tell me that I must do this slowly. Even though there is only 6 weeks until the move (STRESS) I must take things slowly. If I overdo one day, I pay for it over the next few. So I spent the past three days packing a box and knitting a row. This is a great little system.

The office is almost packed…just a few odds and ends to go.

These are my boxes of books. Just my reference books, mind you, but lots of books.  I love my books.

These are my boxes of books. Just my reference books, mind you, but lots of books. I love my books.

Every time I move I wonder why I have so many books. Why have I held onto books from my childhood? Why do I still have Berenstein Bears and Disney picture books? Why have I held onto books from Astronomy 101 and other’s from obscure classes that I’ll never think about again? Why do I have 18 copies of As You Like It (nevermind…silly question)…

I have thought about this over the past week as I looked around my house and noted each stack of books, each shelving unit crammed full of paperbacks next to hard covers, and while weeding out old research articles and other notes of interest. I have thought about this question as I packed each box while lovingly caressing the pages of books I hold dear. I have come to a conclusion.

I love my books.

I love my books.

That conclusion is I LOVE MY BOOKS. Each book not only contains pages of informative tidbits, but also memories of my life. I remember where I was when I bought each book. I remember my child hood and the excitement of receiving my Shakespearian Anthology. I remember meeting one of my best friends during a History 101 class. As countless volumes filled with political science tidbits pass through my hands and into the box, I remember meeting my husband and beginning the journey that has led me here. I flip through the pages of books I read to my children each night and remember their imaginations ignite with each word. I pick up books that have been brought back from travels. I feel the excitement of days past as I gaze upon the signatures of many an author within the pages of my personally signed copies.

Signed by The Yarn Harlot during the Saskatchewan Stitches Conference 2009.

Signed by The Yarn Harlot during the Saskatchewan Stitches Conference 2009.

So why do I hold onto my books? Why can I not let them go? I hold onto my books for they are filled with memories marking milestones in my life. They remind me of where I was and how far I’ve come. They fill me with warm thoughts and hold the promise of the future. Each book I own will one day pass to my daughter who will, I hope, hold them in a similar esteem. It is my hope that one day she will remember her own memories and milestones when she packs them up and takes them along on her own journey through life.

Books waiting patiently to be packed and moved to their new home.

Books waiting patiently to be packed and moved to their new home.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2009 6:29 pm

    I’m so glad you’re enjoying knitting Rosalind. 🙂

    • bonniezink permalink*
      August 14, 2009 6:37 pm

      I really am enjoying the knit of Rosalind. I actually found, while packing, a working copy of As You Like It – complete with notes in the margins and highlighted passages. Rosalind truly is one of the greatest creations of Shakespeare’s time as she, in my humble opinion, is one of the strongest female characters well ahead of her time.

  2. August 15, 2009 8:02 am

    I love books, too. I have a whole cabinet in my kitchen that is chock a block with cookbooks, 3 bookcases, oh wait, make that 4, in the basement crammed with books and another bookcase in the spare room that will eventually be my office.

    I learned to pack the books in boxes from the liquour store so that they weren’t too heavy-numerous, but not liftable.

    Now I need to resist the urge to go the Knitpicks and look at the Harmony straights…and buy the Carmen Banana while I’m there… you are evil 🙂

    • gartergiggles permalink
      August 15, 2009 8:31 am

      Hi Lisa. I love the Harmonies! They are wonderful. And, just so you know, I did buy the Carmen Banana kit and a new book too…Socks from the Toe Up! I have the pattern for Carmen’s boyfriend, Mr. Foster, complete with a pattern for his wardrobe. Your daughter will love the pair if you get around to creating them.

Leave a Reply

