Skip to content

Profile of a knitter…

March 18, 2010

I am not a particularly gifted knitter. I am not a quick knitter. I am not a knitter whose work is coveted and revered from all corners of the earth. I am a knitter none the less. What does it mean to be a knitter?
Each knitter has their own unique talents, their own favourite techniques, their favourite yarns, their favourite tools, and so one. Each knitter is unique. Over my 35 years plus of knitting experience I have noticed some similarities between each knitter that creates a bond between each knitter an unbreakable strand that is punctuated by the uniqueness of our personalities.
Knitters of all shapes and sizes and preferences commonly express their love of the craft. Knitters knit in public. Knitters knit in private. Knitters knit during trying times. Knitters knit during times of elation. We knit for ourselves, for our family, and we knit for the sake of knitting.
Yes, the profile of a knitter is wide and varied yet each knitter keeps close the love they have of all things knitterly. We are addicted to fibre and love to feel the softness of a yarn flow through our fingers. We are addicted to texture and love to run our fingers over a completed piece of fabric dotted with the knot and gnarls of yarn as it forms intricate and twisted tapestries. We are obsessed with colour as it blends and contrasts to create a feast for our eyes. Above all else, we love to convey this love to anyone who will listen to our tales of knitterly wonders.
What are your unique traits that enhance your love of knitting?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lan permalink
    March 20, 2010 11:28 am

    I knit for the people I love. If I have ever given someone something knitted, they should know that it’s a sign of how much I care for them.

    I’m an instant gratification knitter. I mostly knit little projects that shouldn’t take long to make (but somehow a sock still takes me 4 months!). And I knit to be social.

    I knit because I love the colours and textures of the yarn and projects. I knit because I enjoy it and it’s crafty and fun. I love making things and being creative. And I knit because people think it’s “weird.”

    • bonniezink permalink*
      March 20, 2010 3:02 pm

      Such beautiful words from a beautiful knitter. Your words reflect the love knit into each stitch. Thank you for stopping by and leaving your thoughts. They’ve inspired me to knit more.

      I love socks too. I even keep an in progress vanilla sock in my office desk drawer to knit on when I need a quiet and contemplative moment.

      I keep socks in my knitting on the go purse to work on during our weekly giggles and garters meetings. They are wonderful little projects.

      I also love knitting sweaters to keep me busy at home. I usually knit a sweater in a few weeks – depending upon my work load.

      Yes, knitters are wonderfully creative and thoughtful creatures. We knit our love of the craft and the joy of the recipient into each and every stitch.

      Happy stitching…

  2. treanyrain permalink
    July 18, 2010 4:23 pm

    I know this post is a few months old, but I’m so glad I found it. I started knitting a few months ago, and I think I stink at it but I like it so much. I am still working on a scarf that I started over a dozen times but I love it so much that I do not want to quit. I am still not confident enough to call myself a knitter yet but maybe if what you say is true, my love of working with the yarn is enough. Thanks for sharing this.

    • July 18, 2010 5:43 pm

      Treanyrain, I’m so glad you stopped by. You are so right! Knitting is about the process, the love of the craft, the enjoyment of creating with your hands, and a whole lot of other cool stuff. It isn’t always about being perfect. And, as long as you are stitching, /you /are a knitter! I’d love it if you’d read this post, https://saskatoonstitcher.wordpress.com/2010/06/05/bitten-by-the-knitting-bug-%E2%80%A6/, as it describes just what we are talking about here. Let me know your thoughts and */Happy Stitching./*

Leave a Reply

