Skip to content

The Tunisian jag continues…

February 21, 2010

I’ve broken from knitting this past while and my break continues.  I completed Rosebud in short order (it pays to have a teenager for housework and a husband for cooking when one is entirely engrossed in a project) and decided to cast on another afghan.

Rosebud: complete.

Now that Tunisian Rosebud Throw rests comfortably upon my couch, I have decided to continue on with Tunisian Crochet and have begun the Morning Glory Tunisian Afghan (Download your own pattern by clicking on the previous links):

Morning Glory: One pattern repeat complete.

Morning Glory: One pattern repeat complete.

Morning Glory is a break from my usual love affair with pinks.  I have completed one panel, which is worked in a basic Tunisian Crochet stitch.  The base is then edged with a series of triple crochet stitches that begin approximately four rows for the current level, which creates a beautiful coloured “steeple” effect.  Once three panels are completed, they are stitched together to create a beautiful flower garden type effect.

Morning Glory packed and ready to head to Knit & Knatter (I knew the carry all I designed would come in handy).

I have renewed my love of Tunisian Crochet and plan to add a bit of beauty to each room of my new house.  Rosebud put a bit of spring into my family room.  Morning Glory will brighten up either my bedroom or my spare bedroom (both are done in blues – quite by accident, I assure you!). I’m currently in the process of thinking up a Mario & Luigi (the video game heroes) themed afghan that will add some fun and colour to our TV room.   Each afghan will be accompanied by a matched cushion cover also done in Tunisian Crochet.

I think that ought to keep me out of trouble for a little while, don’t you?  Will I return to knitting?  But, of course! I’ve still a basket full WIPs in the corner of my living room.  Once the Tunisian jag has run its course I’ll no doubt cast on something warm and wonderful to the knitting needles!

Happy Stitching!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2010 1:22 pm

    Wow. Gorgeous! And boy did I do a doubletake–my mom made an afghan very very much like that Rosebud for my older sister’s wedding present over thirty years ago. I loved it then, I love yours now, and your Morning Glory too!

    • bonniezink permalink*
      February 21, 2010 4:31 pm

      Thanks, Alison! I do love pretty things and pinks. I am not surprised that your Mom made something similar over 30 years ago. Roses and flowers never go out of style, do they? This technique is just so quick and easy I cannot seem to quit!

  2. Catherine permalink
    August 28, 2015 10:56 pm

    I don’t think I ever heard of Tunisian crochet before. I love to crochet. Hats, and mittens and toys mostly. I crocheted a dress once. Thanks for showing this neat technique, I’m adding it to the bucket list..

    • August 28, 2015 11:08 pm

      It is easy to, Catherine. I love it because it creates a thick and warm fabric that is perfect for blankets. I hope you give it a try!

Leave a Reply

