Skip to content

Tunisian Crochet (a break from knitting)…

February 3, 2010

At times we all need a break from our normal routines, don’t we?  Although my every day routine remains fairly static, I  like to mix it up when it comes to my relaxation / crafting time.  For the most part I knit (and I knit a lot).  I always keep a small project (socks or mittens) in my “kniturse” (a knitting bag often carrying purse type items like a wallet and such) along with a medium sized project (sweater) and there is usually a WIP (work in progress) corner basket beside my favourite spot in my family room (okay this actually means every room, but that is a discussion for another time).

The point is that I like to mix things up.  My relaxation time / crafting time usually involves yarn of some type.  This week I decided to pull out some acrylic and create a beautiful Tunisian crocheted throw for my living room.  The knitting projects are resting quietly for the moment.

Afghan Needles / Hooks

Afghan Needles / Hooks are the length of a knitting needle with a hook on the end. One is needed to create Tunisian Crochet as opposed to the two needed in knitting.

Tunisian crochet (Afghan Stitch) combines the best of knitting and crochet.  The hook is a knitting needle like implement with a hook on the end.  Each row is comprised of two steps:  picking up the stitches (moving from let to right) and pulling the yarn through the stitches (moving from right to left).  It is a simple process that creates a sturdy fabric perfect for blankets and is often referred to as the Afghan Stitch.  The resulting fabric is denoted by a wrong side (looks like a Knit garter stitch) and the right side (looks like a series of squares), which is perfect for cross stitching your favourite patterns on.  You can find many helpful tutorials on the Internet, but Tunisian Crochet Tutorials is one of my favourites.

Rosebud Throw

Rosebud Throw

Now onto the project.  I chose to stitch up the  Tunisian Rosebud Throw, designed by Glenda Winkleman (Ravelry Link).  It is a simple project that is absolutely beautiful.  The delicate rose buds are cross stitched onto the Tunisian Crocheted background.  They are beautiful enough to lift anyone’s spirits, especially in the depths of winter.

The project is constructed in strips, which makes it easy to accomplish this project in stages.  You have the freedom to make this afghan as large or as small as you like by either adding the number of rows in each repeat to match the repeats of the crochet bud chart or by taking repeats away.  Simple, right?  You betcha!

I have accomplished two of four of the bordering strips (Panel A).  They stitch up quickly and can be accomplished in a few hours.  I ought to be ready to construct the rosebud panels (Panel B) by the weekend.

Glenda Winkleman designs are beautiful and I plan on stitching up a few more once this throw is complete:  Morning Glory Tunisian Afghan and Timeless Tunisian Afghan.

I do hope you give this wonderful method a try and stitch along with me.  Tunisian Crochet is truly an art that combines the best of two worlds and creates beautiful accent pieces for any room.

Happy Stitching…

10 Comments leave one →
  1. bonniezink permalink*
    February 3, 2010 9:45 am

    Oh yes, just a note, that this project also contains…umm…bobbles. There! I said it. B O B B L E S, that’s right. There are not too many and they will not be worn. But they are there. I’ve even stitched them!

  2. February 3, 2010 10:42 am

    I look forward to seeing the finished projects, they look beautiful.

    • bonniezink permalink*
      February 3, 2010 12:03 pm

      Thanks! I appreciate your taking the time to stop by my little home on web.

  3. February 3, 2010 3:05 pm

    I’ve been meaning to try tunisian crochet for a while. I’ve got the hook, just need the time! So many things to make, and so little time! This throw looks beautiful – definitely something that would inspire me to try tunisian. However, I’m more in need of cushion covers than a throw, so I’d probably adapt the design for that!

    • bonniezink permalink*
      February 3, 2010 3:10 pm

      These designs are easily adaptable to pillow covers. I think you just inspired me! I’ve several cusions in the living room that need updating. I was thinking of sewing them, but creating coordinating cushion covers just might be a better plan. Thanks for stopping by my little home on the web, Jennie. It is much appreciated.

  4. February 4, 2010 8:19 am

    There is a “no bobbles allowed” rule in this group. You are aware of that, right?

    • bonniezink permalink*
      February 4, 2010 8:21 am

      I am aware of the rule (I think I made the rule); but the rule applies to knitting and this is crochet. This just might be the loop hole to the rule that allows me to create the Rosebud throw guilt free, yes?

  5. Nicole permalink
    March 31, 2016 11:05 am

    Can you please do a YouTube tutorial on Panel A? I cannot keep 11 loops on the hook. Idk what I’m doing wrong.

    • March 31, 2016 11:25 am

      Thanks for stopping by, Nicole. I will see what I can do.

Trackbacks

  1. Tunisian Crochet: Joining Panels « Stitching in Saskatoon

Leave a Reply

