Skip to content

and so it continues …

January 30, 2010

I’ve given Filigree a bit of rest as I found I was frogging more than I was knitting.  So I turned my attention back to the WIP (works in progress) basket and pulled out a simple vanilla toe up sock that was in need of its mate.  A few hours of stitching (plain stockinette) and I had a pair.  I used Schoppel-Wolle Zauberball and size 2mm needles for a neat and snug pair of socks.

Schoppel-Wolle Zauberball

Schoppel-Wolle Zauberball

This yarn knits up beautifully with a varied shading that moves from black to grey to white.  It is a joy to knit with.  This particular ball was gifted to me over the holidays by a mother-in-law who knows what I like.  She picked it up at the Golden Willow yarn shop in Regina, Saskatchewan.  I love this yarn as it came to me wrapped with love.

The socks, Vanilla 2010, were a breeze to knit.  I cast on 15 stitches using Judy Becker’s Magic Cast On and increased to 33 stitches on each needle.  I merrily knit along until I reached the portion where the gusset ought to be and increased until it was time to turn  the heel.  I’ve found that a gusset heel has become my favourite heel.  It is pure simplicity as there are no wraps and very little counting involved.  Then I stitched happily and mindlessly on the leg and finished them off with a K1 P1 (knit one, purl one) ribbing.  I bound off using Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretch Bind Off (it truly is magical) and then…Voila! … I have a cozy ped warmers…

I decided to go with the vanilla sock as I was unlucky in finding that perfect stitch that could show off my handy work as well as the shading of the yarn.  After a few tries of a variety of stitches I decided that this yarn does not need to compete with lace or cables and shines all on its own.  Therefore, stockinette it was.

Check ’em out:

In between stitching on Vanilla 2010 I was working hard on Filigree, but the lace patterns were a bit too much to work on while medicated.  I turned to my sewing and decided to dress up my kitchen dining area.  The door leading to the deck is framed by two tall and skinny windows.  The door itself has a full window in it.  The previous owners were in love with Venetian Blinds – I am not – and each window had one.  The windows were in need of dressing up so I stitched up some basic rod and pocket curtains (very simple hemming and straight stitching…nothing complicated), hung them, and VOILA! I have a kitchen dining area that looks and feels like a home.

Window #2 with my Azalea front and centre.

Window #1

Door and side windows in the bay alcove that leads out onto the deck.

Ultimately it has been a productive week.  Knitting and sewing will always bring me joy.

On that note, take a look at my Azalea blooms.  She offers a promise that spring is on its way and provides me with a glimpse into a warmer future where new life will begin.

Brilliant pink flowers offer a promise of warmer days to come.

Azalea blooming in the midst of winter.

Thanks for stopping by and checking out my progress.

Happy Stitching to everyone!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2010 10:01 am

    I don’t know why it was so hard to find the comments link on here. Anyway, still in a Christmas mood, hey?

    I tried the simple bind off last night and ended up cursing Cat and her contintental knitting ways and the few stitches I did get bound off still weren’t stretchy enough and I ended up doing the sewn bind off.

    Your Zauberball socks are really nice.

    • bonniezink permalink*
      January 31, 2010 10:18 am

      I cursed the left handed knitting in the video too but it all made sense once I realised that when you knit a stitch you do a reverse yarn over and when the next stitch to be bound off is a purl then you do a regular bind off. That way the yarn is always in the right place. I worked for me and I now love this bind off.

Leave a Reply

