Skip to content

More on …

January 19, 2010

Socks! What else did you think I would post about during my sock jag?  The jag is still going strong.  I cannot seem to move away from the fun, the portability, the ingenuity, or the plain amazement of socks.

My sock knitting library is constantly expanding.  I’m ready to add yet another book to my collection:  Personal Footprints by Cat Bordhi.  A new and intriguing sock knitting process is promised.  She promises that the entire sock is knit 100% in the round.  No back and forth on heels or any other part of the sock.  I cannot wait to add this book to my shelf.

I’m still in love with the toe up process. With each FO (finished object) I’m more and more amazed at how easy and logical this process has become.  I’m nearly to a point where I can perform the task from memory.  My favourite cast on is Judy Becker’s Magic Cast On. My favourite needle size is 2 mm.  My favourite heel is the gusset heel.  My favourite cast off is Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretchy bind off. These are all fine techniques to make the sock knitting process run a little smoother.

Check out Cat Bordhi demonstrating the two newest sensations to hit the knitting community:

What is your favourite sock knitting techinique:  toe up / cuff down?  Do you prefer a slip stitch or short row heel?  How about a star toe or a simple decrease (cuff down) or increase (toe up) toe?  Do you have a favourite vanilla sock recipe or do you prefer to knit intricate colourwork or complicated lace work into your toe warmers?

Happy stitching!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2010 6:46 pm

    I’m a cuff-down sock knitter myself, and I prefer intricate stitchwork to the colourwork — I’m just one of those who has no patience for more than one live yarn at a time!

    As for the “surprisingly stretchy bindoff?” It is so easy, and make all the difference!

    And Cat Bordhi definitely has a way of explaining that makes things very clear and easy to understand!

    • bonniezink permalink*
      January 19, 2010 7:38 pm

      I completely agree, jewlbal3, save for the colourwork bit. I’m a big fan of colourwork. I love the way the pattern forms with each row. I don’t mind managing two or three live yarns and I’m always happy with the end result.

      The Bind Off is my new favourite of sock construction. The technique is simple and easy and amazingly stretchy 🙂

    • bonniezink permalink*
      January 19, 2010 7:39 pm

      Thank you so much for stopping by and taking a moment to post your thoughts, jewlbal3!

      • January 20, 2010 5:45 pm

        My pleasure! We sock addicts gotta stick together! 😉

      • bonniezink permalink*
        January 20, 2010 5:51 pm

        And, to be honest, I REALLY am addicted to sock knitting.

  2. January 20, 2010 7:24 am

    Love the bind off. Thanks for posting. I will have to try it in short order.

    • bonniezink permalink*
      January 20, 2010 7:26 am

      I’ve tried it on one sock and can’t wait to finish the second just to do it again. It truly is amazing! You will love it.

  3. Deb permalink
    January 30, 2010 8:33 am

    What is your favourite sock knitting techinique: I prefer a basic cuff down and short row heels. I prefer a simple decrease for toes and do not make intricate stitches. This makes it pretty mindless to tote around to my knitting meetings or work without having to think about it. I save the more involved knitting for home where I’m not distracted. deb in CA

    • bonniezink permalink*
      January 30, 2010 9:31 am

      Hi Deb: My favourite knitting technique is toe up for socks. I find it easier to make them fit and toe up construction has the same possibilities as cuff down for the heels and toes. I enjoy colour work in socks and the occasional lace pattern but nothing too complicated. Socks are wonderful pieces to try out new and interesting techniques and stitches. However, I always have a vanilla sock in my bag / purse (kniturse) to accomplish easy knitting during times where I must pay closer attention (ie: concerts – simple knitting is great for dark places; conference calls; etc.) or to knit on when I’m just not up to concentrating on something a little more complicated. Like you, I keep the complicated knitting for when I’m at home watching TV and what not.

Trackbacks

  1. and so it continues … « Stitching in Saskatoon

Leave a Reply

