Skip to content

Springing forward into the new year (with knitting)…

January 12, 2010

Happy New Year everyone!  It is great to be back to the normal grind of life and stitching.  Now that the holidays are over, our stitching plans have moved into full gear.  Regular personalities have begun to trickle back to the table on Sunday afternoons for gartering and giggling.

Straight to the knitting, you say?  I am here to make your wish come true.  Check out the latest stitches that are flowing from our needles…

An interesting bit happened while we were stitching it up this past Sunday afternoon. A non-member, but crocheter, stopped by our table. She had her projects in hand and made a tour around ours. She is a crocheter who travels everywhere with her stitching. We encouraged her to share and she did. She shared the most intriguing, ergnomically friendly, and fabulous crochet hooking system. It is interchangeable. It is designed similar to those “replace the heads” screwdrivers we all see floating around our husband’s tool boxes. I’m now on the hunt to locate one of these nifty gadgets. Any ideas on where they can be found?

I’ve been busy designing, stitching, and sewing. Next on my needles is the Parker Cardigan (from Interweave Knits Spring 2009). I’ve some new yarn to create tootsie toasters (patterns yet to be determined). I’ve designed a pattern or two for socks. I’m currently working on constructing some wrist totes suitable for carrying around a sock project. Above all, I’m knitting.

Happy stitching everyone…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Debra permalink
    January 19, 2010 5:03 pm

    I was browsing through your ooh so informative blog, and saw your knitting bag. Did you design the pattern, or did you use a purchased one. I am always on the lookout for things to make either for myself or as a gift
    Thanks
    Debra

    • bonniezink permalink*
      January 19, 2010 5:18 pm

      Hi Debra: Thanks for stopping by. I did design this bag. I was on the hunt for a knitting bag that suited all my needs. I’ve a few bags in my closet and each one has its own benefits and high points. I had yet to find one that made me happy all around. It needed to be portable but large enough to house projects like sweaters and afghans. There needed to room enough for my “purse” items (wallet, glasses case, keys, etc.). I needed pockets and LOTS of them (I love pockets). Everything, including notions and yarn and the like, needed to have a place and be easy to find. Above all it needed to be stylish and easy care. So what does a crafty person do? We invent the bag of our dreams. I perused my pattern and fabric stashes and combined bits from a number of sources and came up with this bag.

      You too can make a custom bag by taking a simple pattern, constructing the bag portion, and then using your creativity to place pockets and other design details that suit your needs. I have several pockets on the inside, a removable insert for patterns and yarn (even a bottle of water if I chose) and made sure that the outside of the bag had even more pockets.

      Thanks for your kind words and for taking the time to stop by my little home on the web!

      Happy stitching.

Leave a Reply

