Skip to content

Some sewing, some knitting, and sewing for knitting…

December 28, 2009

I’ve always enjoyed hand work. However, sometimes a machine feels just as good! I spent the day constructing a new bag to carry around my knitting. I put some thought into what would make a good bag. The fabric needed to be durable and there needed to be room for yarn, notions, books, patterns, and all the other things a lady knitter needs to carry around. I wanted a bag small enough to be convenient to cart around and one that would be large to carry both large and small projects. I have hunted for just the right bag and finally decided to craft my own. But first I needed to bring my sewing machine home.

I have an ancient sewing machine. It is a BayCrest, circa unknown. It lives in a fantastic cabinet that has lots of storage (which is the best kind). It is made of real metal working parts (unlike machines of today that make use of plastic pieces) and has a good weight (necessary to sew through layers of heavy fabric).

Cabinet with lots of thread storage.

Cabinet with lots of thread storage.

Drawers for notions and patterns are a must have.

Drawers for notions and patterns are a must have.

I took my machine to the sewing machine doctor, who gave it a good once over. It works better than ever. I am convinced that it sews better and faster than anything newer on the market today. Here she is:

BayCrest Machine...care to guess the year?

BayCrest Machine...care to guess the year?

I have no idea how old the machine is. My Mom had come across it at a garage sale and fell in love with the cabinet. Who knew the machine would soon become one of my favourites?

I decided to break from knitting today and sew up a UFO that was hiding in my fabric stash. I sewed, you guessed it, a bag for carrying around my knitting. Sure, I have a fantastic knitting bag (actually I have three) already, but every now and again I like to create something new.

Pockets and more pockets are a must in any carry all.

Pockets and more pockets are a must in any carry all.

Functionality is an important part of any carry all, especially when it is destined to carry knitting. I created a removable insert that has six pockets on either side of a central book or pattern space. The lining of the bag is also adorned with two pleated pockets on either side. Knitting comes with stuff and I’ve ensured that all my stuff has a home in the new bag.

More pockets.

More pockets.

Knitters like to come prepared. This is why I created pockets on the outside of the bag as well. All four sides have pockets that can be filled with many things. All one needs is stuff (we have already established that knitters have stuff) to fill them.

More pockets for stuff.

More pockets for stuff.

Denim is a durable fabric that suits a carry all well. It is strong. It is washable. It is fashionable. All that is left to do with this creation is to fill it with knitting. I may add adornments as inspiration strikes me, but that can wait.

Now for knitting. I have been knitting. I have been designing. I have been destashing my sock yarn supply, which is now at dangerously low levels (only one bin).

Socks from the Toe Up by Wendy D. Johnson is a fabulous book. I refer to it when knitting from the toe up, which has become my favourite technique for knitting socks. I am nearly complete the Lace & Cables socks:

Lace & Cables

Lace & Cables

This is a simple pattern that is easy to memorize.

I designed over the holidays as well. Here is the result:

Garters & Giggles

Garters & Giggles

I have yet to write up the pattern, but hope to do so very soon. I am considering submitting this chevron sock to a magazine or online pool of patterns.

There you have it. Sewing, knitting, and sewing for knitting. This is what fills my days until it is time to return to the daily grind. I find this helps pass the time until my Jimmy Beans Wool order arrives. More sock yarn and a spring time sweater are in the works.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    August 8, 2010 10:08 pm

    I have a Baycrest that I’ve uncovered after years of rest…I don’t have a manual for it…Do you have it?… If so can you email it to me?

    • August 9, 2010 7:27 am

      Thanks for stopping by, Susan. I’m afraid I do not have a manual for this machine. My Mother gave it to me and she found it at a car boot sale for only a few dollars. However, if you have any questions let me know and I’ll help where I can.

      You’ll love the Baycrest machine. It works magic!

  2. Verna Blanchette permalink
    August 23, 2010 7:32 pm

    Do you have a manual for your Baycrest sewing machine? Have been looking everywhere and can’t find one anywhere.

    If you had a manual, would you be able to photocopy it and I would be happy to pay for your trouble.

    Want to give my machine to my granddaughter but the manual in poor condition.

    • August 26, 2010 12:11 pm

      Hi Verna! Thanks for stopping by. I love my Baycrest but don’t have a manual for it. It was a $5 find at a garage sale. These machines are better than the new ones out there, if you ask me. Good luck on your search.

  3. Irene permalink
    April 8, 2017 8:11 pm


    https://polldaddy.com/js/rating/rating.jsThe machine is 1974 or 1975. I’ve had mine since original – made everything from my wedding gown to sail repairs.

    • April 8, 2017 8:12 pm

      That sounds wonderful!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Some sewing, some knitting, and sewing for knitting… « Stitching in Saskatoon -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

