Skip to content

“I love my books,” says Prospero and I!

November 17, 2009

This quote spoke to me as I was reading the morning emails:

“Books written out of fire give me a great deal of pleasure. You get the sense that the world for these writers could not have continued if the book hadn’t been written. When you come across a book like that it is a privilege.”
Hisham Matar, author (b. 1970)

Books are born out of the frenzy of inner turmoil that lives within most authors. Life will not continue until every word on the page has its place in the ultimate symphony of the story.

I have come across many books that conform to Matar’s view. There are far too many to name but I will try. These are a few of my favourite authors and one or two of their, in my view, best works:

Margaret Atwood: Oryx and Crake; The Year of the Flood
Anthony Bidulka: The Russell Quant Mystery Series
Carol Shields: Larry’s Party
J.K. Rowling: Harry Potter Series
Sharon Butala: Perfection of the Morning Star
Michael Ondaatje: The English Patient
Terry Goodkind: The Sword of Truth Series
John Fowles: The French Lieutenant’s Woman; The Collector; The Ebony Tower
Stephen King: The Dream Catcher; Bag of Bones

Next on my reading list is “Moral Disorder” by Margaret Atwood. In this collection Atwood traces the course of a life and the lives intertwined with it (parents, siblings, children, friends, enemies, teachers, animals, etc.) Her tales span an era beginning in the 1930s and ending in present time and are set in large cities, suburbs, farms, forests, etc. By all accounts most readers will find something of interest in this compilation.

Atwood is at her humourous, lyrical, incisive, tragic, earthy, shocking, and deeply personal best. Her storytelling gifts and unmistabkable style are celebrated within the pages of these short stories.

(BIG HINT: This book is on the Christmas list.)

Other titles that make my list include:

Stephen King: Under the Dome
Margaret Atwood: The Handmaid’s Tale
Lawrence Hill: The Book of Negroes
David Adams Richards: Mercy Among the Children

Those are just a few of my favourites, one or two of my “must reads,” and a list of books that I wish were on my shelves.

Who tops your favourite authors and reading lists? Are there any books that specifically speak to you? Do have a collection that needs expanding? Which books are topping that list of must reads?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2009 9:56 am

    I have been purchasing just about any book that tickles my fancy lately. Thus I have a tonne of books to read on my shelves right now. That being said, I am really interested in obtaining a copy of Anne Rice’s Angel Time. From listening to her, I think that this is a real important book among her work as it appears that this is the marriage of her new found spirituality with the genre that made her famous.

    • bonniezink permalink*
      November 17, 2009 10:00 am

      Well that one will need to be added to my list of “must reads” as well. Many titles didn’t make it to the list as I don’t think I have enough time to sit and type them all!

      Bonnie J. Zink “Love looks not with the eyes but with the mind” (A Midsummer Night’s Dream (I, i, 234))

Leave a Reply

