Skip to content

FOs and other interesting sundries…

October 28, 2009

The move is done! The boxes are unpacked. My knitterly notions, books, UFOs, and other precious items are in their place. I now find moments that I can dedicate to knitting (guilt free).

What have I been up to? I’ve been turning my UFOs into FOs, that is what! I feel a level of productivity that has eluded me since our move had begun. Alright, I hear you, straight to the knitting…

Rosalind is complete! Here she is; soft and pretty; and hanging in a tree:

Rosalind

She was a fairly fast knit. Knit Picks Shine Sport has been added to my list of favourite yarns. I will be looking for a new project to knit more of this yarn into.

Feste (aka The Every Way Wrap) is now complete! Approximately 64″ of cable and moss stitch panels form a unique FO that can be worn at least three ways.

Feste (aka Every Way Wrap) as a mock cable vest

Feste (Back with two button closure)

Feste (scarf or shawl)

Whether worn as a mock cabled vest, a scarf, or a shawl Feste’s unique design affords versatility that punctuates every wardrobe with comfort and beauty. I prefer to wear Feste as a vest but have been known to jaunt around the house on the cooler days with Feste resting upon my shoulders. How do you wear yours?

Although I endeavour to complete all my UFOs in a timely manner, the occasional inspiration urges me to cast on anew. Melistress had shown me her attempt at colour work with a Latvian style mitten. Since I just could not be outdone (and we have to remain true to our matchy matchy theme), I was overcome with the urge to cast on Ruba’iyat Mittens by Heather Desserud (this is a Ravelry link). These beauties are best knit with Knit Picks Pallette yarn, a soft Peruvian wool fingering weight yarn. My version looks like this:

Innogen (palm)

Innogen (back of hand)

I have dubbed my pair Innogen and Posthumus – two characters from Cymbeline by who else other than the Bard himself – Shakespeare! I do like the irony of naming this pair after them. Innogen has been described as the most tender yet artless of the Bard’s characters. She will provide my digits with tender warmth it is true, but she will have my creative artful talent in her creation. Of course, the second must be named Posthumus, the husband to this most morally pure woman. Read the play and find out more about the trials that plague this pairing (including a bet that Innogen’s moral purity can be corrupted!).

Christmas knitting is well in progress and I’ve one project complete!

Alpine

The pattern is Alpine from Cat Bourdhi’s “Socks Soar on Two Circular Needles.” I’ve reversed the colours so the socks match, but not really, as is the current style amongst the younger set.

I’ve had a bit of surprise awaiting me in my back yard. Let me first say that I have do have one fear. It is not an irrational fear as contact with these little boogers can cause death. A new neighbour has been discovered in my back yard amongst the safety of a well matured crab apple tree: a huge wasp nest! Yep, it will be removed very soon…

Wasp Nest

Although I absolutely detest these little creatures, I do have to admire their talent and ingenuity. They seem to be able to construct their homes anywhere. They are completely smooth on the outside. They are constructed in such a way that the little home owners are totally immune to whatever elements Mother Nature throws at them. Even though their engineering talents are something to be admired, their home (and hopefully them) must go!

Happy stitching 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

