Skip to content

A day of much needed rest…

August 30, 2009

I didn’t garter and giggle with the group today. Instead I took a much needed day of rest.

Some days my poor spine just cannot handle the hard chairs of a coffee shop. It very much prefers the softness of my big comfy couch. I spent today resting at home and spending some quality time with my husband.

Quality time was very much needed (and even more appreciated) as the chaos of the move and the packing and working and life have not allowed for much quality or quiet time.

I have the sweetest husband. He made a Big Gulp / Slurpee run on this warm summer afternoon. I love Slurpees!

Brain Freeze slurpee filled with frozen carbonated goodness!

Brain Freeze slurpee filled with frozen carbonated goodness!

My loving husband, while on his trek to 7-11, drove by our new house. We’ve actually “owned” the house for a few weeks now. However, the sold sign hasn’t appeared until very recently. Anyone know just how long is reasonable for Realtor signs to say SOLD? This one has taken a while, but it finally does say SOLD…and the move is ever so much closer with each passing day.

Our house finally says SOLD!

Our house finally says SOLD!

We are making packing progress. It is slow but sure. I cannot wait until the whole process is complete and I have my things out and in their places in my new home. I am dreaming about my PINK bathroom. I am looking forward to coffee on my new deck. I am excited about cooking meals and baking in our kitchen. I am thrilled every time I think about my laptop and I sitting at the kitchen table watching my sexy husband cook his first meal. I am…well, I think you get the picture. I will be happy once all these boxes are moved out of here and into our new home…

My office and yarn are all packed and ready to go.

My office and yarn are all packed and ready to go.

In only three short days my sister, Shannon, will be here.  She arrives on September 1 and will stay until September 14.  Hopefully both she and I will finish up all this packing and join the group for more garters and giggles!  Each year Shannon arrives for Jeanette’s birthday.  She has never missed one in the 17 years Jeanette has had birthdays (Yes, indeed, my baby is turning 17!).

Jeanette is headed off to Grade 12 on Monday.  I can hardly believe that my cute little baby has turned into this accomplished and beautiful young woman who is preparing to take on the world!  She’ll always be my sweet little Peaches!  Here she is in 1993:

Jeanette was about 8mos old and trying hard to get away.  She was always such a little clown!

Jeanette was about 8mos old and trying hard to get away. She was always such a little clown!

Jeanette was always ready with a giggle and smile, no matter what was going on around her.  She still is ready with her giggles but now combines them with some garters.

And in honour of Jeanette’s 17th year I want to share with you a photo taken on September 3, 1993 when she turned 1 year old.  Yes, I am tearing up and you can all feel free to “AWWWWEEEEE!!!!”

Mom (that is me), Jeanette, & Chevelle amongst the Happy First Birthday Presents back in 1993.  Check out those spectacles :).  I remember it like it was yesterday *snif* - pass the tissues, please!

Mom (that is me), Jeanette, & Chevelle amongst the Happy First Birthday Presents back in 1993. Check out those spectacles :). I remember it like it was yesterday *snif* - pass the tissues, please!

Jeanette's first steps were taken shortly before she turned one year old.  I was ready with the camera.  Isn't she gorgeous (or am I being a biased Mom?)?

Jeanette's first steps were taken shortly before she turned one year old. I was ready with the camera. Isn't she gorgeous (or am I being a biased Mom?)?

Happy tears now flow!  Honestly, though, I really truly DO NOT miss those days.  I am quite grateful that my daughters have both grown up into young ladies who are sure to accomplish spectacular things in their lives.  I couldn’t be more proud.

Now, “What about the knitting?” I hear you ask. The knitting is going well. Rosalind is growing. I cannot wait to wear this beauty. The yarn, Shine Sport by Knit Picks, is so fabulously soft and luscious. Trust me, YOU NEED SOME OF THIS YARN!

Rosalind back.

Rosalind back.

Left front panel of Rosalind.

Left front panel of Rosalind.

I have only made one small minor improvement to this pattern. I have increased the length by two inches. The increase is placed just above the ribbing so that whenever the pattern says “knit until ???” in length” I actually add 2″ to that measurement an all is wonderful. I tend to like my sweaters / tops a bit on the longer side. Otherwise this pattern is a dream knit.

And that is it for my Sunday afternoon. A little laundry, some quality time with my husband, some knitting, and some Movie watching. Aren’t lazy summer afternoons grande?

Happy Stitching everyone!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Christine permalink
    August 30, 2009 5:36 pm

    I asked today before we left and they said they were open next Sunday.

    • bonniezink permalink*
      August 30, 2009 5:51 pm

      I stand corrected. I shall amend the post. Thanks for checking.

      Bonnie J. Zink “Love looks not with the eyes but with the mind” (A Midsummer Night’s Dream (I, i, 234)

Leave a Reply

