Skip to content

Stay tuned…

August 13, 2009

Life has been a wee bit chaotic. Knitterly moments have been far and few between. My husband and I have been contemplating becoming homeowners for quite some time. In 2005 we relocated from Regina to Saskatoon in favour of my husband’s dream job. We hadn’t planned on buying a home right away and took a few years to scout out our preferred neighbourhood and then the housing market went crazy.

Prices sky rocketed and emulated a boom, rather than bust, in the economic condition of Saskatchewan. We put the house buying item lower on our agenda in hopes that the prices of the average home would drop. Recently the property market in Saskatoon leveled and prices fell to a more affordable norm. The house buying bug bit us once again. So we decided now is the right to take the plunge and began the process.

Before I go on I must say that I am a thinker. I like to contemplate and consider all the scenarios and prepare for all outcomes (from the negative to the positive). I tend to cover all ends of the spectrum. This is my comfort zone: consider all and be prepared for the ultimate “anything can happen” scenario.

That said…let us now consider a snap shot of my week:

August 1: Decision to take the process of home ownership seriously.
August 4: Meet with the Mobile Mortgage rep and figure out what our home budget is.
August 5: Check out online listings and figure out what we can reasonably expect in a home and where.

Sounds good so far right? One would think so, but let us continue…

August 6: Meet with our Realtor and set up some appointments to view houses over the coming weeks.
August 7 (noon): View homes over an extended lunch hour, fully expecting to return to the office by around 2 pm”ish.” (Sanity taking a back seat to the insanity of the day.)
August 7 (1:30 pm): Viewed 3 homes and then happened upon the Erindale home. Several homes were fairly dated; one was unique and completely above ground; another was a good size and had a fabulous park-like yard and was a definite consideration; all were early 80’s late 70’s construction; and most in this range were in need of lots of TLC and some work. (Grip slowly loosening on the control that feeds my sanity.)

THEN we saw this:

The home we've waited for...

The home we've waited for...

August 7 (4 pm): We fell in love with the house, which is in the perfect location. Offer written and submitted with a reply expected by 6 pm. (Hope of retaining sanity becomes a distant memory.)
August 7 (6 pm): Reply received with notification of another bidder (oh great a bidding war!). Counter offer filed and by 9 pm or so our counter was accepted and we were awarded the home. YAY!!! Much excitement and fear accompanied us throughout the weekend. (All grip on sanity and control now gone!)
August 10: The fun begins: financing, inspections, and all the fun bits of buying a home took over our week. (Sanity? What?)
August 13: Today marks the anticipated removal of the final condition to our offer: A home inspection.

THEN –>

This beautiful four-level split complete with three bathrooms, three bedrooms, dining room, double garage, two family rooms, gas powered pot-belly stove, two-tiered deck, and a fully developed beautiful yard (keep your fingers crossed) will be officially ours later this evening. We move on September 25, 2009.

I see many boxes in my future. I see limitations to my knitterly pursuits. But, I have found a moment to start one new project (shhh…please do not ask about the OTNs (on the needles) and UFOs (unfinished objects) right now; they will soon be living in comfy box awaiting arrival to their new home):

Rosalind, is a beautiful summer cardigan inspired by none other than the Bard himself. Shakespeare’s play, As You Like It, has always been a favourite of mine. How could I resist the casting on of this beauty? I am using Knit Picks Shine Sport yarn in Hydrangea Blue. This is my stress busting project as my world has been upended and won’t return to right until well after the move and set up.

Knitting moments might be limited, but it is all in the prioritizing. These moments will be only thing saving me from losing my sanity completely. I’m currently taking bets on whether I finish this one by the move in day or not 🙂 Wish me luck!

Happy Stitching everyone and remember you are always welcome for a coffee and no offer of packing help will be refused!

PS:

Dear Sanity: I will try to visit you again in the future. For the time being, though, I am afraid I cannot accommodate you. I will miss you dearly. Please keep in touch and, hopefully, we will reconnect on the flip side.
Looking forward to seeing you again!
BZ

3 Comments leave one →
  1. melistress permalink
    August 13, 2009 11:58 am

    Sooo…what’s on the needles? ;-p

    We have some packing paper for you. Let me know when you need me/it. Looking forward to a really great packing party. Gonna get lots done! Lots done!

  2. August 13, 2009 12:33 pm

    May your move be a happy one and guarantee mucho knitting in the future!

    • bonniezink permalink*
      August 13, 2009 1:09 pm

      Thanks, Regina Mom. I’m hoping the stressful part is over and it is smooth sailing from here. September 25, me thinks, will not come fast enough for me.

Leave a Reply

