Skip to content

Inspiration on Summer’s End …

July 13, 2009

Heat and humidity reign supreme here in Saskatoon, SK. Although it is cloudy and rainy, the humid and heavy air of the afternoons keeps me from accomplishing much of anything. That is, except for a new sweater! Now my thoughts are turning to Summer’s End when I can show off my new sweater.

Summer’s End (SE) (Ravelry Link) is a joy to knit. It is knit back and forth on a long circular. The 5mm needle gives it a larger gauge so the knitting is accomplished quickly. The lace pattern, that forms the lower bodice, is an easy repeat that adds interest to the knitting process. This is a versatile cardigan that is worked from the bottom up. The 3/4 length sleeves are perfect for layering on the cooler days. I envision wearing this with a white blouse underneath and having the cuffs turned up over the knitted sleeves. Paired with either a skirt (for a more flirty flair) or a pair of jeans I do expect this piece to become an integral part of my fall and winter attire.

I did ponder between re-casting on the February Lady Sweater (FLS) (Ravelry Link) and Summer’s End. The latter won out for several reasons. I am not a huge fan of the garter stitch bodice on the FLS. I enjoy the minimal garter stitch requirement of SE. It adds just a touch of interest to border the neckline, an interesting lower waist contrast and upper waist division to the lace of the lower bodice. I very much enjoy the garter stitch upper bodice and felt that it would certainly show off the subtle interplay of colours of the yarn I chose to use.

February Lady Sweater:
2557274228_3ace597a89

Summer’s End:
SumEnd

(Please note that the above two photos are courtesy of the pattern designers.)

Summer’s End is a shorter sweater than I would prefer so, being the intuitive knitter that I am, I am adding a few more inches to the bottom of the sweater within the lace repeats. So far I’m about 9″ up the lace repeats … Since the pattern calls for 9″ length, I think I’ll knit until 12″ or so. And a view of the lace …

SummersEnd_Lace Patterning

My yarn of choice is Wool of the Andes Kettle Dyed Yarn from Knit Picks. it is a worsted weight wool with subtle colour variations produced by the kettle dying process. I originally ordered this yarn to create the Cabled Yoke Coat. I worked my through the pattern and got hung up on the underarm instructions. I grew tired and turned my attentions to other UFOs in the pile and just never quite returned them to the coat. However, when Summer’s End came across my path, I knew just what to do. The coat was frogged and given a renewed purpose with Summer’s End.

Other UFOs that grace my needles this week are the Lindsay Socks from Sock Innovation, my Winnipeg Vanilla Socks (which are nearing completion), and Komet (only the second to the pair needs to make it to the needles).

Lindsay:
Shells and ... by the ...

Winnipeg Vanilla:
Winnipeg Vanilla Sock (Lever Style)

Komet:
Komet_sock1

Happy Stitching everyone! Drop me a comment or two and let me know what is on your needles this week.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. melistress permalink
    July 14, 2009 10:44 am

    What worries me about Summer’s End is that I have no shoulders and so the big wide neckline with the huge wide shoulders might not work on me. It is lovely and if I can figure out some modifications to bring the neckline in a bit, I might cast it on.

    • bonniezink permalink*
      July 14, 2009 10:46 am

      I did not think of that being an issue. The neckline wouldn’t be difficult to re-design. It is a simple raglan styling and for you I would suspect that all we need to do is bring the raglan shaping up a little past where the pattern leaves off.

  2. melistress permalink
    July 14, 2009 10:45 am

    Also, February lady can be done in stocking stitch…and has been by a few ravelers.

    • bonniezink permalink*
      July 14, 2009 10:49 am

      For those of us with an ample chest, the shaping of Summer’s End is a little more friendly than that of the FLS.

      • melistress permalink
        July 14, 2009 2:26 pm

        True. I worry more about midriff room than I do about chest room, although I think that FLS yoke ends before my chest does. I like how swingy it is. Some advice would be welcome when I do Summer’s End with either my DIC or Malabrigo.

Leave a Reply

