Skip to content

I recommend not knitting while …

June 22, 2009

The past couple weeks have been roller coaster. Between bouts of BPDs (Bad Pain Days) due to the Osteoarthritis, birthday celebrations, a funeral, and work related deadlines my world has been in a constant flux. This hasn’t left a whole lot of time for productive knitting.

The moments I did have to dedicate to Hey Teach were accompanied by pain killer induced stupors. Let me tell you folks, I don’t recommend knitting while in such a state. Let me tell you why.

By the end of last weekend I was quite proud of myself in that I completed the back of Hey Teach. I was ready to cast off when I realised a large and pronounced error at the beginning of the patterning section. I sat and contemplated: Do I continue? Do I rip it back? So off to do a few loads of laundry I went with the mistake ridden piece nagging at me. I did rip it back!

Later in the week when I recovered the frogged progress I realised that I had not read the pattern properly and the arm holes were not proper. Again, with the frogging. Recovering was quick as I now had the lace pattern repeat memorized. Yes, I was clipping along on the left front panel when I entered the same cycle of misreading, frogging, and reknitting. UGH! Reading a pattern careful is apparently important. Sadly I couldn’t blame the mishaps on the Designer (this time!).

The moral of my toils? Read, read, read, and then read again. All is well with my progress now that I have learned to read. Measure, knit, count, knit, read the pattern, knit, check the pattern, knit, measure again, and (before casting off) ensure that all is well and happy in the land of knitting.

Yes, lesson learned. I now have the back, left panel front, and most of the right panel front (after frogging only once when I realised I have neglected to incorporate the arm hole cast off and decreases) complete. For what was promised to be a quick knit, it is taking some time, isn’t it? In my defense, folks, I have been on drugs and living in my pain med stupor. Therefore, reading for accuracy has been a challenge! I highly recommend NOT knitting while medicating…

Happy Stitching!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. djork permalink
    June 22, 2009 12:35 pm

    Dude, 2 weeks ago, while under a Benadryl-inspired haze, I got most of a sock done. Granted, the tricky bits (you know, 2×2 ribbing, slip-stitch ribbing, picking up stitched, decreasing) had to be done sober, but I was stoned enough that miles of stockinette in the round was entertaining.

  2. Christine permalink
    June 24, 2009 12:41 pm

    Almost 2 weeks ago I injured my knee, doctors didn’t know what I did but they gave me some good pain killers and I had a couple of days off work because I couldn’t stand. Good knitting time I figured, but no, I learned about the downfalls of drug induced knitting. I look at it now and have ripped back everything I got done because it looked like crap.

  3. bonniezink permalink*
    June 24, 2009 12:43 pm

    I hear you, Christine. But it is fun to try, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

