Skip to content

A note on Filigree…

June 2, 2009

Let me start out by saying just how in love I am with this pattern.

Filigree is addictive, entertaining, and a titan of a project. So far so good, though:

I’ve completed the centre square and have begun work on the patterned border A. The borders are constructed row by row and attached to the live stitches of the square. So far no seeming!

I have discovered a tip and a trick along the way. The centre square is written for DPN construction until the increases outgrow the size of your DPNs. Then the remainder of the square can be moved onto a circular. I don’t see any reason that would create difficulty in constructing the square on two circulars or with the magic loop method. I think the key here is consistency and whatever makes you comfortable.

Once the square is complete, there is no binding off of stitches. All stitches remain live as to accommodate the attachment of the borders. Ahhh….NO seeming…this is a joy! There is a bit of a trick here, though, that makes the process a bit easier. The pattern instructs the knitter to remove the stitches onto a long stitch holder or waste yarn. I recommend using waste yarn. The holders tend to be rigid. I tried using my Knit Picks cables but they were not supple enough to make the knitting of the border to the square easy. I felt like a contortionist when attempting to pick up the square stitch and knitting it together with the last stitch of the Border row.

Experience has now taught me that supple is superior. A length of waste yarn works better than any stitch holder I own. Now that I’m over that hurdle and passed a few false starts, the process is moving along. I have completed 40 or so knit and purl rows and the pattern is beginning to reward my perseverance. This project will take a while to complete, but more than worth the effort.

Isn’t it pretty?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2009 5:13 pm

    I loooove the color of yarn you’re using. I’m sure the FO will look amazing!

    • bonniezink permalink*
      June 2, 2009 5:51 pm

      I’m hoping that amazing is what it turns out to be. I’m a long way from that! The colour is Ultramarine and the yarn is Knit Picks Gloss. The silk in the blend gives the fabric that “glowy” hue. The light seems to play off the colours. I love the colour as well. This is a deviation from my normal pink / purple tendencies, but a good one I think.

  2. melistress permalink
    June 2, 2009 7:46 pm

    Very pretty.

    • bonniezink permalink*
      June 2, 2009 9:11 pm

      Thanks…pretty, yes; will be knitting this one forever, me thinks.

Leave a Reply

