Skip to content

Just another reason why I am enamoured with WordPress…

May 26, 2009

As many of you already know, I’ve used several blogging providers including Blogspot and LiveJournal. I haven’t compeletely fallen in love with one until now…WordPress is the ultimate.

Not only does it allow me to see you, what you search for on the blog, how many visits you make, and how you found me (whether in an email, google search, or what have you), it allows me to publish from word. Oh WordPress, you’ve made me happier than I thought I could be. You’ve reached my inner geek and made blogging FUN again!

Just when I thought I couldn’t be happier, you’ve gone and done it again. You added another cherry to the top of the sundae. I can now post blogs from my email! That’s right, from my email…from anywhere I am…from anywhere I can send email…even my happy cell phone.

Check out this handy little tutorial.

Photos, updates, mp3’s and videos (provided you have paid upgrades), and be uploaded as attachments and with the east that we require. Blog away with the convenience that is rightfully yours!!! (Cross your fingers that this posting works…but I guess if you are reading this line, it already did.)

Happy Stitching…
(PS: Decimal is getting there: almost done the yoke and then onto the button band. I just might make the deadline of June 6!)

WordPress.com

Just Another WordPress Weblog

Get HD WordPress Video with VideoPress
New stats charts

Posted: Tuesday, May 12th, 2009 at 5:47 pm. Filed in New Features.
Tags: Email, WordPress

Post by Email

by John Godley

Have you ever wanted to fire off a post from your phone, Blackberry, Outlook at work…? Following on from Comment Reply Via Email we’re introducing our latest feature to make it even easier to publish to your blog: Post by Email.

Maybe you’re on holiday and want to show your journey. Maybe you’ve captured something with your cell phone that you just have to share. Maybe you’re at work and should be doing something else. With Post by Email you can keep everyone up-to-date without even opening a browser.

Post by Email is super simple to use. From the new My Blogs menu you can generate special email addresses:

My Blogs

You can create as many email addresses as you need, one for each blog you have access to.

Now for the fun part – send an email!

email

You can send email from any email client, whether in a browser, on your desktop, or from your cell phone, and as much formatting will be retained as possible.

Attachments are not left out, and your images will be included and automatically converted into thumbnails.  If you include multiple images they’ll be converted into an attractive gallery.  Now you can take photos anywhere and have them appear on your blog in moments.

iphone holiday

If you’ve purchased the Space Upgrade then MP3 attachments will be displayed using our audio player. If you’ve purchased the VideoPress upgrade then you can also include videos.

There really is no easier way to get media onto your blog.

holiday snaps

If this hasn’t whetted your appetite, here’s a quick run-down of Post by Email features:

  • Transcoding of any video files supported by the WordPress video player (mp4, mov, wmv, avi, mpg, and m4v).
  • Automatic removal of standard signature blocks, with support for manual removal of other signatures.
  • Add your email addresses directly into your address book using downloadable vCards. (You don’t even need to remember the address!)
  • Automatic notification of a published email post.
  • Conversion of YouTube URLs into embedded videos.

For advanced users wanting that little bit extra, full control of your post is possible through special shortcodes, with details provided on the Post by Email support page.

It’s time to start emailing again!

done

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2009 2:57 pm

    Hmm…I’ve been thinking of jumping the Blogger ship because I hate not being able to respond to comments. It’s nice to hear a good review of one of the alternatives. Thanks! 🙂

    • bonniezink permalink*
      May 26, 2009 4:20 pm

      Jump ship! You’ll enjoy it and never look back.

  2. July 2, 2010 6:50 pm

    It certainly helps to read how you personally use the features of WordPress. Very good article, and I enjoy your enthusiasm! I too, am posting my experiences of getting connected in Social Media. I haven’t figured out the art of posting my blog reference in a reply like this just yet.

    I would really like to cross-link your article with mine, and I know the information is out there but I am looking into so many other things right now. Anyway, great post!

    • July 2, 2010 9:03 pm

      Thanks for stopping by, Dave. Please feel free to cross link the articles.

Leave a Reply

