Skip to content

A self-imposed challenge…

May 3, 2009

I do not own any lace weight fibre.

I wish to own lace weight.

I bought a patten in hopes that lace weight and I will some day be friends.

I have bought an intricate and beautiful (advanced level) pattern by the name of Filagree Shawl.  It is worked with a series of three squares with borders and becomes a squared shawl that fits the shoulders.  I am more in love with the construction than the actual design.

I have never worked with lace weight nor own any.  Now I’m on the hunt for some.  The pattern calls for 2 skeins of Fino (70% Alpaca / 30% silk) by Alpaca with a Twist (100 g skeins).

My question is this, my dear knitters, ” Is this a lofty goal?”  I’ve been present during Melistress’s struggle with lace weight (yet she keeps buying more! and I do have photo evidence! Am I missing something here?), ought this frighten me?  The patterning looks simple enough in this shawl, but does combining it with lace weight create fear and convulsions?

Any and all advice welcome…please post a comment and tell me your thoughts.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. melistress permalink
    May 3, 2009 4:59 pm

    The only problem I had with lace weight was winding that one tangled mess. Do not let that one bad hank scare you. I have heard that lace knitting is both challenging and gives you the most bang for your buck. May I suggest knitpicks laceweight yarns? They are both gorgeous and economical. Charlene also has some beautiful silk fiddlesticks brand laceweight yarn.

    • bonniezink permalink*
      May 3, 2009 5:07 pm

      I may have to entice you into a shopping trip! (You can tell Andrew I twisted your arm). I’ve heard tell that lace is wonderful summer time knitting. So we shall see if I can make it through this pattern.

      I can follow charts, am becoming somewhat experienced with lace patterns (ie: Decimal and many sock patterns) but have yet to tackle something of this size.

      Care to do a knit along?

Trackbacks

  1. I did it … the world of lace, here I come… « Stitching in Saskatoon

Leave a Reply

