Skip to content

New Projects vs. Current Projects…

April 28, 2009

Life is interesting.  Things keep happening and moving along.  Lots of distractions to take me from my planned activities.  What might those be?

My current projects involve a beauty of a sock (second to the completed first) knit from cashmere and silk yarn in a red and brown combination that is breathtaking.  Curlicue is a Robyn Gillmore pattern sent to me as part of my sock of the month club.  This fellow blogger has some beautiful photos of what the completed project ought to look like.  My version can be seen on my Ravelry Projects Page. I truly do want to finish this project…maybe in time for when the snow flies once again.

In the meantime, my attentions have been diverted to a pattern known as Decimal.  It can be found in the spring 2009 edition of Knitty.  I fell in love with its intricate lace design and the fact that it is not only for stick people, but was designed with us more fuller figured women in mind.  The designer has done an expert job in creating this beauty. I am using Patons Grace in a pale blush.  I’ve had a large number of skeins in my stash for well over a year.  I enjoy this yarn and it retains a pretty sheen once it is knitted.  So, the plan is to complete this project by June 6, 2009 (that is the plan!). Any takers on whether or not I can finish by the time the Yarn Harlot comes to visit Saskatchewan?

A good friend of mine, Melistress, the Frog Queen, has been shopping once again and encouraged me to yet again wonder from my current projects.  She brought me a new book to look at, Sock Innovation:  Knitting Techniques and Patterns for One of a Kind Socks by Cookie A. (the well known sock designer responsible for the Monkeys socks).  Now, I’ve put my request in for the book (which has been flying off the shelves of our local yarn store) and find my thoughts perusing my memory of its pages.  In the mean time I have, yes indeed, started a pair of socks from that very book.

Sunshine is a beautiful and simple pattern that has been a joy to work on, and the cause of my neglect for my other projects.  I’ve a few inches done already…

sunshine-001

I thought about doing this sock the two at once on 2 circs but decided to enjoy having an easy pattern on the go that I can take my time with and enjoy.  The yarn is from Knit Picks.  Gloss is a beutiful silk infused fibre.  The colour is Grape.  I think I must collect more of this yarn.

sunshine-002

Hope everyone is having a wonderful week and having better luck at concentrating than I!!!  What projects do you have on the go?  Who has the most UFOs in need of attention?  Leave your comments!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. melistress permalink
    April 28, 2009 8:21 pm

    Oooh! I like that color! Gorgeous. Can’t wait to see the finished pair!

  2. bonniezink permalink*
    May 3, 2009 5:58 pm

    Gloss is a fantastic yarn. The silk is yummy!

    You really do NEED some.

Leave a Reply

