Skip to content

Hi from Germany

March 22, 2007

Hi everyone, I just joined this Blog and am happy to be here with you all. I have had my book for a few weeks now and it really got me knitting socks. I started with Mona Schmidt’s Embossed Leaves Socks, of which I knit a single one – they were the main reason I had ordered the book.

I used 2.5mm needles and a yarn from a German yarn factory called Hamburger Wollfabrik – the yarn has no particular name.
I didn’t ge t toknitting a second one – wearing this pair can wait until I’ve tried all the patterns I want to.

Next I knit the Retro Rib Socks by Evelyn A. Clark, because they looked like a pair that I could wear in my hiking boots. This pair I did actually finish and have worn them already when I went to a craft fair yesterday. The socks are knit from Regia yarn on 2.25mm needles.

I currently have another pair of these on my needles, again with yarn from Hamburger Wollfabrik in a different colour. These are for my hubby and just like Delana I knit them toe-up. There was no particular reason for this, except that I had never knit toe-up socks before and was fascinated by them. I’m rather proud of these, because I developed my own toe-up heel flap construction by knitting the heel from the original instruction backwards.

I have a pair of Erica Alexander’s Cable Rib Socks on the needles as well (thank heaven I have this incredible amount of same size dpns, right?), but these will have to wait until next week. At least.

See what I mean? This book really got me knitting socks!

Have a beautiful weekend everyone!
Gisela

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

