Skip to content

Undulating Rib Socks

March 17, 2007


My first pair of socks from the book will be Ann Budd’s Undulating Rib socks. Here’s a picture of the first 3 inches or so. It was hard to decide which to do first, since there are so many I’d like to make–Retro Rib, Embossed Leaves, Waving Lace, Go with the Flow, Diagonal Cross-Rib….

A question for anyone else who is working on these: are you getting a small hole where you do the k1,p1,k1 all in one stitch? I am, and I’m not sure I mind–it looks intentional, actually, like a smallish yarnover. When the sock is stretched out, these give the pattern a slightly lacy look. But not having done this particular stitch before, I have no idea if this is an egregious mistake or not!

I’m using Regia 4 Fadig Color yarn. I had intended to use it for a different Ann Budd sock pattern–the Broken Cable Rib Socks (on the IK Web site). But I decided it would work well for the Undulating Ribs.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

