Skip to content

‘Gloss’ing it over……

February 28, 2007

I’ve made some progress on the Waving Lace. I’m working the heel flap now but thought I’d share the fact that I’ve had to make a few adjustments since I’m using the Gloss yarn from KnitPicks. I know they show it as a sock yarn but this yarn is a thick yarn. At least, thicker than what I’m use to using. I also find it splits a bit too, but you just have to be careful. The leg calls for 3 1/2 repeats of the pattern for 6 3/4 inches from CO. When I reached 3 repeats + 4 rows I’m at 7 inches. And I may have to adjust the number of heel rows I’ll have to do from what the pattern calls for. Then of course, the repeats on the instep will have to be adjusted…..but I’m determined to use this yarn. I’ve had in my stash a while waiting for the right thing to come along. I think it shows the pattern off nicely too. I’ll keep you posted on the progress of the sock and this particular yarn.
Although I’ve not done the pomatomus socks (shocker huh) I agree with Mango – this pattern does remind me of those great socks. Have you seen Cookie’s other patterns? What a talent she has!
There are so many patterns in this book that I can’t wait to try……I’ll have to control myself into finishing the second sock of this pair before I cast on another. Am I that disciplines…..I don’t know….hhhmmm……………
*Edited to add: I’m using a size 1 circular needle on these socks, ‘Magic Loop’ style

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

