Skip to content

How many stitches can this stitcher stitch?

October 18, 2013

Banff Blue Ice

Banff Blue Ice

This past summer was a busy one. I wrapped up several large professional projects, had major neck surgery, and began the process of recuperating from that surgery. This meant a reduced activity level that kept me from knitting for quite some time. Fall is finally here and, I’m happy to report, I’m returning to a more normal schedule; I have returned to stitching!

Travel Knitting

My favourite type of knitting is travel knitting. This is any project that is small and portable. It fits nicely in my knitting bag, purse, or travel case. There isn’t a whole lot of additional yarn to carry. What fits the bill? Socks… lots and lots of socks.

Whether I travel to enjoy family and friends in other parts of the country or travel to engage the hearts and minds of professional colleagues, I have a socks in various stages of construction to keep my fingers busy on planes, trains, and automobiles.

I often make the trip to Brooks, Alberta. My sister lives in this little town on the Canadian prairie. While my husband drives, I stitch. I stitch a variety of projects: socks, mittens, wash cloths, stockinette sweaters. All of these have one thing in common – they are based on easily memorized and simple stitch patterns.

A Good Plain Sock

My favourite travel knitting project is a good plain sock. The easy construction of a toe-up sock provides miles of stitcherly enjoyment. It is even less complicated when paired with a self-striping or patterning yarn. The pattern forms as each round is knit and helps stave off the boredom of miles and miles of stockinette accomplished on very tiny needles.

How many stitches can this stitcher stitch?

Canada celebrates Thanksgiving on the second Monday of October, which landed on October 14, 2013. This is traditionally a time for family to reconnect and enjoy each other over a turkey feast. We decided to keep tradition intact and spend it with my sister in Brooks, Alberta. The drive between Saskatoon (SK) and Brooks (AB) is about 5 hours long and covers a distance of approximately 495 kilometers. This is a perfectly enjoyable amount of mostly uninterrupted knitting time!

This Thanksgiving travel knit project was a pair of good plain socks. I am using Mary Maxim Twinkle Toes Yarn in Blue Ice. It has a hint of sparkle to it and provides the knitter with a faux fair isle design that changes as the stitches build upon each other. As I stitched this pair of socks, I wondered how many stitches could I knit between Brooks, Alberta, and Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.

As it turns out, this stitcher knits approximately 9000 stitches! I began stitching as we pulled out of my sister’s drive and continued stitching until we parked safely in our own. As it turns out, this is about the halfway point of a typical sock. I stitched only while we drove, taking breaks for short pit stops and longer meal breaks. I cast on the toe in Brooks (AB) and ended as I completed 2.5 cm of the leg. I cast on, knit the foot and gusset, turned the heel, stitched the heel flap, and was able to complete a few rounds of the leg all in the time it took to drive home.

How’s that for a productive knitterly trip? (Ravelry page)

9000 stitches

Brooks (AB) to Saskatoon (SK) knitting looks like this. Approximately 9000 stitches!

Rosetown (SK) to Saskatoon (SK) knitting looks like this:

Rosetown (SK) to Saskatoon (SK) knitting looks like this:

Brooks (AB) to Oyen (AB) knitting looks like this:

Brooks (AB) to Oyen (AB) knitting

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2013 6:53 pm

    That’s. So. PRETTY. Pardon me, swooning over here. And the name! We were in Banff on the fourth of July when I was ten–I’ll never forget the date. My father was telling us how Lake Louise was even prettier than (this was huge) Lake Tahoe (where he’d spent his summers growing up, so, yeah) and–it was snowing. On the Fourth of July. Made quite the impression.

    • December 18, 2013 12:59 pm

      Swoon away! Thanks for stopping in.

      The Rockie mountains of British Columbia have so many beautiful jewels. I’ve been to ski resorts on July 1 (Canada’s birthday) where we were skiing on that day too. It is so pretty. No matter the season, spring, summer, winter or fall, they are all beautiful.

      The combination of blues in this yarn reminds me of the beauty each time I wear them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,059 other followers

